The royalty placed after three and a half years of accurate restorations are reborn. The nineteenth -century environments of the royalty placed on the ground floor of the Vasarian complex and behind the Loggia dei Lanzi, are ready to host the Uffizi restaurant. The announcement is on the launch pad, the menu already defined. While waiting to know the name of the chef, the end of the restorations was celebrated in the presence of the Minister of Culture Gennaro Sangiuliano.
If you go to the Uffizi square and targe in the direction of the Arno on your right you will see after the construction site of the new Uffizi the door with the real post office. Once in that area there was a building where the famous gold “florin” was coined inside. But the architect Giorgio Vasari with extreme care in architectural details incorporated this structure in the Uffizi building creating a continuity of the entire body. As we subsequently know, the complex became the headquarters of the bureaucratic body of the new Grand Duke Cosimo I, but despite having passed several centuries, the function of the building as part of the Medici offices changed only in its new operational qualification.
Why rush? You can certainly appreciate more by taking it slow with a Florence city tour on foot. Here’s what you don’t want to miss out on.
At the Museum of Scanza Galileo Galilei, the exhibition of the artisans of Florence continues throughout the month of February and March. All weekends will be the practical exhibition, school of Florentine artisans. Activities aimed at young people and adults, focused on the recovery of the memory of ancient artisan techniques.
During the workshops – lasting about 90 minutes – the participants will attend practical demonstrations and at the end they will receive a useful guide to be able to repeat the activities carried out independently. The meeting for the booked is at 10.30 am at the ticket office. Before starting the activity, the museum will offer participants a tasty breakfast provided by the Caffetteria del Grano, Piazza del Grano 4, Florence, thanks to the support of Opera Laboratories Florentine.
The restoration works of the external part of the Loggia del Bigallo in Piazza San Giovanni are finished: the first part of the interventions that will allow the Bigallo to return to shine in the center of Florence. On this occasion, now it is possible to see again the fresco that is located on the first floor of the history of San Pietro Martire and the devil. The Loggia del Bigallo was built between 1353 and 1358 instead of the Torre degli Adimari house, driven out of Florence during the wars between Guelphs and Ghibellines. The loggia was built for the Bigallo company and for the Compagnia della Misericordia, two institutions founded by San Pietro Martire who dealt with orphaned and abandoned children. The name “Bigallo” derives from two cockerels on the company’s coat of arms. According to the legend, the loggia rises at the point of the miracle that St. Peter Martyr made in Florence.
asari writes in 1550 about Leonardo: «And among these models and drawings there was one, with which several times ingenious citizens who then governed Fiorenza, showed wanting to raise the temple of San Giovanni di Fiorenza, and submit the stairs there without rearing it; And with so strong reasons it persuaded him, who seemed possible, although each, then that he had started, knew for himself the impossibility of a cotant company “. In reality, Leonardo’s project already had precedents: a few years earlier, in 1455, the Bolognese engineer and architect Aristotile Fioravanti (c. 1415-1486) with rollers, beams and Martinetti, had successfully moved a tower in Bologna . The latter had among other things worked for Leonardo’s friends or clients, such as the Bentivoglio, King Mattia Corvino of Hungary and Cosimo de ’Medici (between 1458 and 1467 in Florence). Leonardo’s project provided to raise the baptistery on four steps, as can be seen in a design attributed to Francesco Granacci (which is preserved in the cabinet drawings and prints of the Uffizi)
The massive structure, constructed in 1895 as part of an architect Vincenzo Micheli project, is referred to as the picturesque fifth of the square; its history dates back to 1883, when the Jewish ghetto and ancient market were demolished. The architecture of the palace goes beyond its function as a civilian residential building in the bourgeois sense. It becomes a monumental urban sign that imposes itself for the large arcone that he enters through Strozzi. The facades of the side buildings are developed to understand the two orders that each develop for six additional axes, the last of which are in the argument. Following that, each of these lateral bodies grows thoroughly in its own isolation, on two internal brief that go to the route Brunelleschi, and on one of an elongated shape towards via Pellicceria.
It is one of the oldest scientific museum in Europe and on February 21, after four years of work, its suggestive rooms reopen, rich in anatomical and botanical waxes. In preview, the spectacular of Palazzo Bini Torrigiani in via Romana was visited by the President of the Republic Sergio Mattarella in the Tuscan capital on 8 February for the hundred years of the University of Florence.
From manifestation of republican power first and then Medici, reserved for the scampols of the noblest and most popular families, to popular tradition par excellence of Florence. From ball game that took place in many other cities in the Middle Ages, to the element of the Florentine DNA. With a cancellation of over two centuries that changed its soul but paradoxically made it more real precisely because it was reinvented. In short, a true invention, a “legend” that like all legends has profound elements of the territory it expresses.
September 1683, many meaning nothing …. but in that month or between 11 and 12 September a battle took place to say the least epic between the Polish-Austro-German army commanded by the Polish King Giovanni III Sobieski against the ‘Army of the Ottoman Empire commanded by the Grand Visir Merzifonlu Kara Mustafa Pasha. It may seem what nothing of nothing, but in reality thanks to this battle the inexorable push of the Ottoman expansion in Europe stops. But what does all this have to do with the city of Florence?