walking tour: Florence, Rome, Milan, Venice, Naples

Alberobello

Alberobello Free tour
Alberobello free tour

History

The land was first occupied in the early sixteenth century on the initiative of Count of Conversano Andrea Matteo III Acquaviva d’Aragona. He enabled forty peasant families from Noci to settle here and work the land in exchange for a tenth of the crops.

In 1635, his successor, Count Giangirolamo II (1600-1665), built an inn with a tavern and an oratory, as well as a few tiny homes, to begin the urbanization of the woodland. The abundance of limestone, karst, and calcareous sediments, as well as the count’s authority to erect dwellings solely with dry walls and no mortar, which would become the characteristic trulli, aided the urban spread. The count used this responsibility to have homes built with dry stones to avoid paying taxes to the Spanish viceroy of the Kingdom of Naples. Alberobello’s historic center was built on the streets of the ancient river Cana, which is now known as the largo Giuseppe Martelotta.

Alberobello was a fief of the Acquaviva of Aragon until May 27, 1797, when King Ferdinand IV of Bourbon raised the little settlement to the status of royal city, releasing it from the counts’ feudal service. Francesco Giuseppe Lippolis, the city’s first mayor, was elected on June 22, 1797.

Alberobello is the only populated place with a complete district of trulli and is regarded as the cultural capital of the Itria Valley’s trulli.

The Prammatica De Baronibus, an ordinance of the 15th-century Kingdom of Naples that subjected every new settlement to a tribute, is tied to the history of the trulli (from Ancient Greek o). In 1481, the Counts of Conversano D’Acquaviva D’Aragona, owners of the area of Alberobello, insisted on the population that they build their residences dry, without using mortars, so that they could be designed as fragile and easily dismantled buildings.

With just stones available, the peasants discovered that the round form with a self-supporting domed roof was the simplest configuration. The roofs were adorned with ornate pinnacles bearing the architect’s signature (master trullaro).