Recalling that in 1038, it was given the name Por “Santa Maria” and acquired the appellation “above Porta” due to its location at the southern entrance of the Carolingian fortifications. Here, in 1216, the combination marriage of Buondelmonte de ‘Buondelmonti and reparata of Lambertuccio degli Amboi was required; however, the bride’s rejection resulted in the customary partition of the city into two factions, subsequently referred to as Ghibellines and Guelphs. Additionally, this is the suggestion that Moscow’s Lamberti would have given, using the well-known statement that the head made to persuade the Hamidii to assassinate Buondelmonte. Ghibeline families, including the Uberti, Arrighi, Fifanti, and Ambreans, really made up the majority of the parish’s population.
After the Ghibelline buildings located here were demolished, the church was rebuilt in the latter part of the thirteenth century. Its new site was most likely nearer to via Por Santa Maria and its orientation was likely altered. With a new dedication to San Biagio di Sebaste—possibly selected because the local carders respected it as a defender against the ills of the throat, from which they suffered chronically—the name was also altered, presumably to erase any reminder of the bloody civil wars.
Before they started construction on their castle adjacent to it in 1267, he served as the location for the captains’ meetings in the Guelph portion. Then, on the left side of the structure, along the silk lane of today, the previous Federico de ‘Bardi constructed a chapel that is still standing and is dedicated to San Bartolomeo.
The bell known as the Martinella (from “Mars”), which rang out in times of conflict and caused people to assemble for the militia’s formation, was kept in the church. Over time, he attacked the Carroccio della Repubblica, which he stationed in the Piazza del Mercato Nuovo, where he could attract a larger audience, even though it was first raised in front of the church doorway. Following the free municipality era, it was joined to the Torre di Arnolfo, which is its current location. The entry point San Bartolomeo dei Bardi chapel.
The barracks of the firefighters, who were the heirs of the Guardia del Fuoco, which was established in 1416 at Santa Maria in Campidoglio, in the street named Fire, were housed in the church of San Biagio, which was suppressed in 1785. This passage marked the destruction of the classroom’s decorations, the altars, and the dispersal of the furnishings, as well as the opening of a large door on the side for vehicle passage. He was renovated in the 1920s as part of a project led by Alfredo Lensi, the director of the municipal office of Fine Arts, in collaboration with the nearby Palagio di Parte Guelfa, with whom he has since created a unified complex that is connected inside and out. with the Silk art corporation.
The Municipality of Florence originally gave the palace to the popular university, designating the church as the library’s home. This arrangement has largely stayed the same even after the institution closed in the early 1980s, evolving into the municipal library it is today.
Before other churches in the neighborhood were demolished to make way in Piazza della Repubblica (San Pier Buonconsiglio, Sant’Andrea), the church continued to be the last in Florence to display a double access ramp on the front to enter the entrance, a characteristic that was formerly common in this part of the city. The Palace has half of its facade made up of solid stone bosses; the smaller ones are located along the silk alley’s side and are replaced by a flaw at the top that houses several windows from the five seventeenth century on the side and a large open circular window. The coats of arms on the windows are associated with the Carosi or Niccola families.
The architrave (redesigned during the Neomedieval restorations) displays the coats of arms of Florence, the cross of the people, and the Guelph section on the portal, which is covered by a canopy and capped with a complete arc carrying a cross of Pisa in the riconcon. With abrades Bardi on the Cuspids and a door leading to a private entrance, the Chapel Bardi projects from the structure to the left. The branch circle paintings on the vault of the chapel, which is currently the library office, connects to the nave by an arch. If you are interested to discover more secrets of Florence come with us, we are organizing a very original free walking tour of Florence, tips based. Our meeting point is in Santa Maria Novella square in front of Minerva Hotel. please book in advance in our page online.